Off The Beaten Track – a poem

Take me to somewhere the tourists don’t go
I want to see real life; deep inside it’s soul
I need to be somewhere which eluded the guides
To be in place where realness resides

I yearn for the place off a beaten track
Which hasn’t been covered by some weathered hack
It’s difficult to reach, a bit of a slog
And is not in the pages of some travelogue

So take me away and nurture my soul
A glass of something cool will help with my goal
A nice plate of food and good company
Hands up, who wants to go there with me!

Leave a Reply

