Marc – a tribute poem to Marc Almond

Troubadour, a joy in store
Beautiful creature, with striking features
Collecting waifs and strays
And the most beautiful losers
By the boy who came back
From a Mambaesque state
The Willingest of Sinners
The Ruined of the Ruined
St Judy of the garbage heap
Chanson interprete extraordinaire
The best British Brel
From Spanish Bordellos to Russian Gulags
New York Lofts to Southport’s sands
Faded glamour of carnival clamour
Singing of Criminal Lovers
On the grime-encrusted sidewalks
Beauty oh Beauty
Cara a Cara
Send me broken-hearted yet beautiful
Send me the rubiest of reds
Send me to my dreams
Where there is a tainted bed
Greet me like a stranger
And leave me like a lover
For you inspire me, fuel and fire me
Like no other

One thought on “Marc – a tribute poem to Marc Almond

Leave a Reply

