Winter Clothes – a poem

Today I’m wearing winter clothes
In tones of grey and black
Dodging raindrops and dirty puddles
Whilst utilising my raincoat and boots
Retrieved from the depths of my wardrobe
Optimistically placed for later in the calendar

August’s precipitation makes way for
Sharpened pencils and pristine uniforms
For the children returning to their education
Whilst parents process their devastation…

Two days ago I was wearing a summer dress
Too warm days by the English Coast
Devouring fish and chips, and ice cream
Expected foodstuffs of delight
The dry sand between my toes
And the smell of salt in my tangled mane.

Such recent times are hard to reconcile
When Autumn’s veil shrouds the light of today
And washes my memories clean away

Leave a Reply

