Regrets of the Dying – a poem

 

It’s the end of my life, and what have I learned?
Did I toil too much, and leave my family spurned?
Did I say “I Love You” to those that I do?
Did I say it enough?
Did I say it to you?

Did I make enough time for fun spent with friends?
Were dreams and aspirations chased to the end?
Did I do what I love, instead of what’s safe?
Was I true to myself?  
Was I bold, was I brave?

Did I always speak my mind instead of resenting?
Was I the “bigger person” when conflict’s presenting?
Did I do right by my kids, and raise them just so,
Did they have the childhood, that we all should know?

I wish I’d saved money for retirement
But regretting it now isn’t time well spent
Did I live with an honour and courage and truth
Did I become a role model for the generation of youth?

I wish I’d not been so angry and proud
I wish I’d not locked myself in a shroud
Happiness is an option; I now know that’s true
I wish the younger me, was telling that to you

So what have I learned through my lifetime of years
Life’s what you make it, and there’s nothing to fear
Live the life you desire, here and now, and today
Make the changes, don’t regret.
Live life another day.

 

Leave a Reply

