“The Timeshare Bed” – a poem

Another solo night, in the timeshare bed
Hubby’s on nights, so, alone here I’m led
The checking of windows and locking of doors
Is all down to me, but I know the score
A routine of sorts to make sure we’re safe
A house wife’s duty and how to behave
Responsibility mine, but done to a script
Doors, windows, keys, glass of water to sip
Check on the boy, he ‘s fast asleep now
With toys all around and cheeks all aglow
Silently snoring and breathing in time
I could watch him all night, this gorgeous boy, of mine
Off to bed I reluctantly sneak
Stopping myself from one final peek
More “I love you’s” and a kiss on the side
A grunted response but my heart fills with pride 
Then off to my own bed, its vastness laid open
Read a book, try to sleep, this room’s like an oven!
The walls closing in and I’m starting to shudder
Sleep deprivation of one kind, or another
Then finally slumbers are laid at my feet
Six hours of rest, if I’m lucky, in his heat
The fan makes a noise, a rhythmic sashay
Which cools my tired body, til the cold light of day
Then keys in the door, indicate hubby is home
I look at the clock, its early, I groan!
Another night conquered of sleeping alone
A solitary existence within my own home
Up I get, cup of tea, and morning greetings
Breakfast for three, “what are you eating?”
A 5-minute catch up once hubby’s well fed
Then he’s straight up the stairs, to our timeshare bed.

 

Leave a Reply

