“Its Your Musical Taste That I’m Judging You On” – a poem

 

I don’t care for the colour of your skin

Or the God you pray to, 

Or the mood that you’re in

I’m not concerned if you’re gay or straight

Or something between; that’s not what I hate

I don’t give a fig if you’re a man or a woman

Active, passive, lazy or sloven

But when it comes to music, then that’s where I’m at

I don’t care what you like, even if its old hat

Passive popular melodies just aren’t my goal

Give me some PASSION, something to stir the soul

Punk, SKA, Reggae or Rap

Something with soul, not any old crap!

Electronic, Synth, Alternative or Goth 

Are where my heart lies but that’s not enough!

Shades of Brecht, sea shanties, and Brel

Delivered by Almond, now they ring my bell!

Siouxsie, the goddess, is my kind of girl

A fan since the 80’s, I’ve watched her unfurl

Mode are the synth gods, delivering sound

Which bridge the gap ‘tween pop and underground

Too many to list that have a place in my history

(Some combinations, quite frankly, are a mystery!)

But forget any prejudice, traditional hates

My music is who I am, its fate

Its me, its who I’ve become

So please remember when its all said and done

It’s your musical taste that I’m judging you on

2 thoughts on ““Its Your Musical Taste That I’m Judging You On” – a poem

Leave a Reply

